Buddu Wins Masaza Cup Final

Spread the love

The final was graced by the Kabaka of Buganda, Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II at St Mary’s Kitende Stadium

Two second half goals from Marvin Kavuma and Bruno Buyaga helped Buddu to break a jinx of six years and win this year’s edition of the championship.

Champions Buddu kicked off the tie in high spirits looking for an early goal, with threats from Sharif Ssengendo and Geoffrey Gaganga but failed to break the deadlock until the end of first half.

On the other hand, Buwekula’s forwards also failed to break Buddu’s defense commanded by captain Abdallah Sentongo.

Buddu’s first goal came through Marvin Kavuma before Bruno Buyaga doubled the lead to help Buddu sail past the resilient Buwekula side.

Buddu was given a cash prize of 12 million shillings while second placed Buwekula was given nine million.

This becomes the second trophy for Buddu after winning the 2016 edition. However, previously Buddu lost three finals of the same tournament.

In the same development, the third placed team Bulemeezi was given seven million shillings, while the fourth placed side Mawokota was given 5 million

Past Winners
2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi
2020 – Gomba 3-1 Buddu
2021 – Buwekula 0-2 Buddu

Related posts

Leave a Comment